When should I use the top menu options?
WP Rocket's top menu is automatically added to the admin bar so that you can easily run some actions from anywhere in your admin panel, without having to access WP Rocket's Settings page.
In this menu, you'll find these options, depending on the server and WP Rocket's enabled features:
⚠️ You don't need to click these actions all the time because WP Rocket automatically triggers them for you in most cases. WP Rocket's automated cache clearing should cover day-to-day usage as per this article.
Here are the exhaustive lists of situations where you need to manually run these actions:
You should manually clear the cache whenever you have:
- Created 301 or 410 redirects.
- Made changes to the styling in any of the CSS files, and Minify CSS files or Combine CSS files are active.
- Activated, deactivated and updated any plugin which displays something on the front end of your site.
- Installed one of the WP Rocket helper plugins that affect the front-end, e.g. exclude files from deferring, LazyLoad, Load CSS Asynchronously.
- Done changes outside the WordPress editor, via (s)FTP/SSH, on the server, on external proxys, or on CDNs.
- Made changes that aren't immediately reflected on the front-end and if you just don't see your new content live.
Additionally, there are certain scenarios where you can see specific options as with Polylang that allows you to clear cache for a specific language, see an example here.
Clear and preload cache
When the Preload feature is enabled, the "Clear cache" button will be replaced by "Clear and preload cache" and when clicking on it, the cache will be preloaded after being cleared.
You can use this option in the same scenarios listed in the Clear cache section of this article.
Only in WP Rocket versions before 3.12, you will find a separate option called Preload cache. You need to click on it when:
- You've manually cleared the cache.
- The Critical Path generation finishes (because this will clear the cache).
Purge Sucuri cache
This option will be available if the Sucuri Add-on is enabled.
- Made changes to your files without changing their filenames.
Clear Used CSS
This option is available when Remove Unused CSS is enabled.
- You should use this option when you make changes to stylesheets, or add/modify custom CSS via the WordPress Customizer (or a plugin).
Regenerate Critical Path CSS
This option will be available only if the Load CSS Asynchronously feature is enabled.
You should run the Regenerate Critical Path CSS option whenever you have:
- Created custom CSS which would affect the critical path.
- Made extended changes to your site's CSS.
- Regenerating CPCSS shouldn't be done routinely. Only, if they make changes in CSS files of the theme (ref.: Load CSS Asynchronously).
Note: this information also applies to the Quick Actions section inside the Dashboard tab.